TLC License Renewal Requirements for New York | NYC Driver Institute

Settings

  • OFFERING ALL REQUIRED TLC DRIVER CLASSES
  • + 718 255 9500
  • school@driverinstitute.nyc
  • EnglishSpanishChinese (Simplified)

TLC License Renewal Requirements for New York

about us header image

Attention all TLC Drivers: You MUST take the Renewal Course 90 days BEFORE your license expires.

Please see requirements below:

  1. Take the TLC Driver Renewal Course.
    The TLC Driver License Renewal Course is a new requirement for TLC Drivers with licenses expiring on or after January 1, 2022.
  2. Take a NYS DMV certified Defensive Driving Course if needed.
    We offer both in-person and online versions of the 6-hour Defensive Driving Course, which can reduce up to 4 points from your driving record.
  3. Pay your renewal fee online using LARS.
  4. Drug test.
    Each driver is required by the TLC to take a drug test 90 days before your TLC license expires. For more information, please visit the NYC TLC drug testing requirements page.

Please remember to visit TLC UP to submit any required documents online.